Updates Share

Weekend road closures to Riverside Expressway – Margaret Street off-ramps

Night works: The Margaret Street off-ramps (from the Riverside Expressway) will be closed over seven (7) weekends* in July, August and September 2017 from 8pm Friday until 4am Monday to remove the Margaret Street overpass structure.

When:

Demolition work will occur from 8pm Friday through to 4am Monday for up to seven weekends* from July to September:

  • Friday 21 July to Monday 24 July
  • Friday 28 July to Monday 31 July
  • Friday 4 August to Monday 7 August
  • Friday 11 August to Monday 14 August
  • Friday 18 August to Monday 21 August
  • Friday 1 September to Friday 2 September
  • Friday 8 September to Monday 11 September
  • Friday 15 September to Monday 18 September

*The weekend 25 – 28 August the road will remain open for the Bridge to Brisbane.

Where:

The work will occur on Margaret Street, between George and William streets requiring the closure of the Margaret Street off-ramps from the Riverside Expressway to George Street.

Vehicles wanting to access the CBD will instead need to exit at the Elizabeth or Turbot Street off ramp. See map overleaf.

What to expect:

Equipment used will include a 450 tonne crawler crane, forklifts and flat-bed trucks.

Loud works will be done during the day or early in the night to minimise noise disruption.

Pedestrian access:

The pedestrian footpath gantry on the southern side of Margaret Street will be closed for the duration of the works. Pedestrian access to and from 1 William Street and QUT will be via George and Alice streets.

Vehicle access:

Vehicles entering the city from the Riverside Expressway will need to use the Turbot or Elizabeth Street exits.

The closure of the Margaret Street off ramps will be controlled by Queensland Police Service and traffic controllers.

Authorised vehicles and local traffic will be able to access and exit Queens Wharf Road and Gardens Point Road under traffic control.

The pick-up / drop-off point at the front of 1 William Street will remain accessible.

Directional and warning signage will be in place to communicate these changes.

For more information about traffic conditions and changes visit www.qldtraffic.qld.gov.au or call 13 19 40.